Open Data Kosovo Successful Stories

Open Data Kosovo
5 min readJul 31, 2019

Tech4Policy an EU-funded Project implemented by Open Data Kosovo in partnership with Girls Coding Kosova has brought an enormous impact in Kosovo. A project that empowered young women to design digital solutions to improve and strengthen Kosovo municipalities while promoting employability in the high-potential ICT sector. Project outputs: (250) trained women; (4) digital solutions, and (10) Municipalities. During the Project Lifetime which lasted for two years, two incubation groups were the winning teams which implemented 2 digital solutions each for a Municipality in Kosovo. For the following three weeks we will post the 3 powerful and insightful women stories which aim to inspire you as well.

My name is Rreze Sadikaj, and I am 20 years old. I am currently on the third year, studying Computer Engineering at the University of Pristina. My hobbies are reading, dancing, walking and playing handball.

I have heard about ODK on social media and by following them I have seen the opportunity to get involved with young women in technology and this is what made me compete for this project. Also I have heard at my University that ODK is doing a great job for women who love coding and I always wanted to be part of it.

The journey at ODK is amazing, lovely staff and hard working. They help us for anything we need. Nevertheless, a challenge for us is to make the project more useful and changing things for a better solution, completing the project in the right time is another challenge we face, however, we are all doing our best!

This opportunity made me see the real world of implementing a project. I have learnt a lot of things that I did not have idea about! Now I know all the steps you should take to implement a real project.

The impact of myself here is that I am trying to do my best. I am very dedicated person and I try to give my best ideas to help the team.

The quote that inspires me every morning is: “One day all of late nights and early mornings will pay off.”

I am Aurora, an ambitious young girl. I am known as a person with self-confidence and I like taking different challenges and bear responsibility. I am not afraid of new opportunities nor new adventures. My hobby is believing in myself and achieving anything I want.

I have been identified as a person with extraordinary intelligence (IQ greater than 140) by ATOMI Institute. In our facebook group we share different worthy opportunities with each-other, and so one day while I was scrolling I saw Tech4Policy opportunity, its purpose amazed me, empowering women in technology, breaking these stereotypes that left us so behind was amazing. P.s. I think that this is one of the best thing that using internet made me.

Working in ODK feels more like home than like a workplace, everyone is so friendly and cooperative. In every step we have challenges but with determination and hard work we overcome them.

Being involved in this project taught me so many things, starting from the beginning when we had 3 intensive training days where I learnt too many things, then when my project won it gave me one of the best feelings, working in incubation phase made me a more responsible person and taught me the real concept of open data. Also I learnt to work under the pressure, to work with the team, to coordinate and separate tasks and so more.

As a very dedicated and a person full of ideas, I always try to help my team to bring out the best. I am very open minded and everytime look at the problems with critical mind, so I always come up with a reasonable conclusion and logical solution.

Even though sometimes things don’t go as we want and we often have despair, we should always know that giving up is not a choice and we have to move on forward.

We should always keep in mind that “Great things never came from comfort zones” and “Big journeys begin with the small steps”.

Hi, I am Erblina Osmani and I am 20 years old. I am on the third year studying Computer Engineering in University of Pristina. I love jogging, sleeping, watching Netflix and listening to music.

I heard about Open Data Kosovo on social media and from my uni friends. The reason I participated on Tech4Policy was because I liked the idea of it and wanted to challenge myself to get involved in this massive project.

My journey in Open Data Kosovo until now has been amazing, the staff is great and the offices as well. We have lots of challenges and everyday I try to do my best to overcome them.

The project has helped me grow more as a person with the challenges I have had. Apart from programming I have learnt too many new things/skills which I will probably need in the future .

I have helped the team in different situations, and we have come together to find solutions.

Ultimately, a quote I live by is ”The grass ain’t always greener on the other side”, and I firmly believe that it is about perception.

--

--